Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 5th, 2008

Video Training Resources

Scouting Maniac has gotten into my head.  I started pondering ways to better equip our own troop to train the younger scouts on orienteering.  I know that the church where we meet has a very old course on it, although it’s long been overgorwn.  Of course we could probably take a Saturday and go out there to locate it and refurbish the markers as a training course, and we might just do that. In itself, that seems like a pretty fun day. 

But what if we decide to make a new one instead?  Surfing around the web this morning for guidance on training the scouts how to create an orienteering course, I found a really interesting video how-to site called Wonder How To.  Now, I must caution you all that you can find out how to do all sorts of things, but I’m going to limit this link to Boy Scout activities.  This can be an amazing tool for training your scouts and newer leaders on the ways of the scouting events. 

I have to tell you, I really like this video site.  I think that we can all benefit from looking at the different scouting topics for new and fresh training ideas.  Today, I learned how to use a scout to measure the height of a tree.

Read Full Post »